OUR PEOPLE

UBC VANTAGE ONE 
FACULTY & STAFF

The faculty who teach in the Vantage One program hold appointments in the UBC Faculties of Arts, Science, Applied Science, and Management, or directly at UBC Vantage College. They include three Killam Teaching Award winners (2017 Brett Gilley, 2013 Joanne Fox, 2012 Fok-Shuen Leung) and bring extensive scholarly and teaching experience. Many of our faculty have international teaching experience, and speak other languages in addition to English (including Arabic, Dutch, French, German, Korean, Mandarin, Persian, Serbian, and Spanish).

Find Faculty

Juan Abello
Instructor, Mechanical Engineering
604.822.2937
abello@mech.ubc.ca
Instructor, Computer Science
604.822.4912
meghana@cs.ubc.ca
Instructor, Computer Science
604.827.3005
cgberg@cs.ubc.ca
David Borys
Sessional Lecturer, History
Nazih El-Bezre
Lecturer, ASRW
Lecturer, AEP (Science/Engineering)
Principal (ON LEAVE)
Senior Instructor, EOAS, Chair of Vantage One Science Program
604.827.1572
bgilley@eoas.ubc.ca
Ernest Goh
Instructor, Engineering (UBCO)
Chris Gradin
Lecturer, AEP (Science/Engineering)
Neil Guppy
Acting Principal, UBC Vantage College
Joss Ives
Instructor, Physics
604.827.2633
joss@phas.ubc.ca
Instructor, Chemistry
Won Kim
Lecturer, AEP (Arts/Management)
604.827.5994
won.kim@ubc.ca
Lecturer, Psychology, Chair of Vantage One Management Program
604.827.3768
mlam@psych.ubc.ca
Instructor, Chemistry
Senior Instructor, Math
604.822.3038
fsl@math.ubc.ca
Lecturer, AEP (Science/Engineering)
Katherine Lyon
Lecturer, Sociology
Fatimah Mahmood
Lecturer, AEP (Science/Engineering)
Instructor, Geography
Saloome Motavas
Lecturer, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Lecturer, Mechanical Engineering
Instructor, Political Science
Instructor, Chemical & Biological Engineering
John Pringle
Lecturer, AEP (Science)
604.827.3755
john.pringle@ubc.ca
Senior Instructor, CHBE & Mech, Chair of Vantage One Engineering Program
Senior Instructor, ASRW, Chair of Vantage One Arts Program
Lecturer, AEP (Arts/Management)
Instructor, Physics
Cheryl Roberts
Lecturer, Economics
Academic Director
Lecturer, AEP (Arts)
604.827.2600
amber.shaw@ubc.ca
Katja Thieme
Instructor, ASRW/English
604.822.5247
katja.thieme@ubc.ca
Lecturer, AEP (Arts)
604.827.2581
brett.todd@ubc.ca
Lecturer, AEP (Arts)
Director, Academic English Program
604.827.3764
sandra.zappa@ubc.ca
Eric Zvaniga
Lecturer, Management
250.807.9947
eric.zvaniga@ubc.ca

Find Staff

Sarah Baik
Student Services Coordinator
604.827.3731
sarah.baik@ubc.ca
Wendy Brett
International Student Advisor, Science
604.827.2605
wendy.brett@ubc.ca
Laura Campbell
Administrative Assistant
Tina Chan
Associate Academic Advisor, Applied Science
604.827.3761
tina.chan@ubc.ca
Alissa Jenkins
Marketing & Communications Coordinator
Sukh Jhangri
Manager, Marketing
604.827.3755
sukh.jhangri@ubc.ca
Mehrnaz Kobari
Associate Academic Advisor, Arts
Daniel Levangie
Manager, Academic Advising
Emily Myers
Operations Administrator
604.827.3762
emily.myers@ubc.ca
Susanne Schmiesing
Director, Business Development & Operations
Manbeena Sekhon
Registered Psychologist
604.822.3811
Steve Sharpe
AV Technician
604.365.2941
steve.sharpe@ubc.ca
Chemistry Lab Program Manager
Brian Wilson
Curriculum Manager